Board Member Elections

British Wool - Board Member Elections

Following British Wool’s call for nominations for Members of the Board in the English Northern, English Central and Northern Ireland Regions, Mr Carl Stephenson has been returned unopposed as Board Member for the English Northern Region.

An election will be held in the other two regions, and the names of the candidates nominated in those areas are as follows: 

English Central Region:


Heyridge Farm, Snake Road, Bamford, Hope Valley, Derbyshire, S33 0BJ


SPOONER, Rebecca

Turn Meadow, Eccles Terrace, Chinley, Derbyshire, SK23 6BU


Northern Ireland Region:


15 Drumhappy Road, Ballyness, Dungiven, Co Londonderry BT47 4RA


KELLY, Brendan

185 Magheralane Road, Randlestown, Co Antrim BT41 2PH


Voting papers will be sent to all registered producers in the above Regions on Thursday 18th January 2018, and they must be returned to the Independent Returning Officer by 6pm on Thursday 8th February 2018.

For the purposes of the election, the geographical counties remain the same as they were before the Local Government Act 1972 and the Local Government Act (Scotland) 1973.

The term of office for each Board Member is three years, commencing 1 April 2018.

Contact: Mrs J Murphy, British Wool, Wool House, Sidings Close, Canal Road, Bradford, BD2 1AZ.


Notes to editors


For further information

Please contact

Gareth Jones, British Wool Producer Communications Manager

on 07590 355885 or garethjones@britishwool.org.uk


Lauren Boulton, British Wool Producer Communications Assistant

on 01274 688666 or laurenboulton@britishwool.org.uk

Issued by agpo@britishwool.org.uk

British Wool Promotion

Raising awareness amongst consumers about the unique benefits offered by the fibre.

Since its launch in 2010, The Campaign for Wool has influenced a new demand for wool on an international scale, and it’s efforts have seen an outstanding threefold increase in the price farmers receive for their wool.

Get Involved Read More