Our mission is to drive sustainable demand for British wool in order to maximise returns for our members.

Re-appointed Independent Board Members

Jonathan Lea and Rhys Davies, have been re-appointed as British Wool’s Independent Board Members for a further three year term, beginning on 1st October 2022.

Both, Jonathan and Rhys joined the board as Non-Executive Members in October 2019.

Jonathan is a Finance Director by profession. Previously, the CFO of a FTSE 250 PLC and has wide international experience of business in Europe, Asia and Latin America. He spent 25 years in the global textile industry, including working in Hong Kong and China for 7 years.

Jonathan has deep interest in sustainability and was previously a Director of WRAP, a not-for-profit organisation that developed and runs the Sustainable Clothing Action Plan. A clothing industry-led initiative that uses collective action to transform the environmental impact of our clothes.

Rhys has considerable experience in corporate governance across a number of different sectors and is a Non-Executive Director on several boards, including Crop Health and Protection Ltd (CHAP), a government backed agri-tech centre set up to improve agricultural productivity in the UK.

He has extensive change and transformation experience, which predominantly IT led, across a number of business sectors - supermarkets, supply chain, leisure, higher education and health – with some of these programmes leading to world first innovations.

Rhys also holds a number of non-executive and director roles in West Yorkshire at Airedale NHS Foundation Trust, Sovereign Health Care, the University of Huddersfield and Bradford Grammar School and is also working with a start-up educational technology company.

During the last three years Jonathan and Rhys have seen greater efficiencies at British Wool resulting in improved performance within our depots which benefits both our members and consumer along with more effective communication using social media and modern technology. 

Back to Press Releases
Re-appointed Independent Board Members Rhys and Jonathan